The Third (and Fourth) Child

Tucked deeply within my womb, God is knitting together two miracles. Undetected by human ears, two small hearts are beating. New souls are developing, and God has blessed me with the honor of being a part of this.

In the eyes of of society, having four children is borderline insanity. After all, isn’t money tight enough? Isn’t the world already overpopulated? Isn’t having four children a bit selfish? If you ask the internet their opinion on four children, you will probably be incredibly discouraged about what you find. So many bloggers talk about the burden of having a third, let alone a fourth.

I refuse to let myself fall into that kind of thinking. These days I am reflecting on Psalm 128:3-4, “Your wife shall be like a vine, prospering on the sides of your house; Your children like newly planted olive trees around your table. Behold, so shall the man be blessed who fears the Lord.” After cycle after cycle of praying and pleading for the Lord to bless us with another child, He has more than answered our prayers.

Oh how my arms ache to feel the weight of another precious newborn. My breasts long to satisfy another empty belly. My heart pounds in anticipation of the inevitable stretch that will take place as two more souls join our family. I don’t care what the world thinks, this twin pregnancy is a blessing.

Please pray for my little ones as they grow. This week our little apple seeds are developing their hearts. Pray that God would give our children hearts to love and serve. Pray that as their brains continue to develop that the Lord would bless them with wisdom beyond their years.

Also, intercede for me. Pray that I would learn how to crucify my ego a little more each day. God knows that I still have a lot of room for improvement.

Leave a Reply

